Areas of Research
Office of the Vice President
Office of Intellectual Property & Commercialization
Office of Sponsored Projects
Compliance & Review Boards
Research Foundation
Forms & Downloads
Funding Opportunities
Policies & Procedures
Proposal Preparation
Resource Links
Routing Proposals
Training & Workshops
Travel FAQs
News Articles
Spotlight Articles
Breeze Newsletter
Events Calendar
Browse Projects
Browse People
Home / About / Office of Intellectual Property & Commercialization / Intellectual Property Committee

Intellectual Property Committee

Intellectual Property Committee

The Louisiana Tech University Intellectual Property Policy (7112) establishes an advisory committee known as the Intellectual Property Committee to advise the President, Director of Research, and university on institutional intellectual property policies and the status and conduct of technology transfer efforts. The committee is also an advocate to University personnel for technology transfer efforts and assists in the conduct of the technology transfer policy by:

1. Evaluating ROIs and recommending university action
2. Conducting preliminary assessments of viability and making a recommendation to seek patents, to seek marketability of the invention, or to take other action
3. Recommending the equity positions of the university and inventor
4. Recommending how the intellectual property is to be assigned

The Committee is appointed by the President with the Chief Research and Innovation Officer acting as the Chair. The Director of Office of Intellectual Property and Commercialization is a member of the committee and generally prepares the meeting agenda and makes his recommendation on matters brought before the committee.

The committee members for 2017-2018 are:

  • Bill McCumber, PhD, Assistant Professor, Economics and Finance, College of Business

  • Leon Iasemidis, PhD, Professor Biomedical Engineering, Director, CBERS

  • Gary Kennedy, PhD; Head of the Dept. of Agricultural Science

  • Jennifer Riley, JD; Exec. Director of Development and Legal Counsel for the Alumni Association - University Foundation

  • Niel Crews, PhD, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Director, IfM

  • Justin Kavalir, Legal Counsel

November 15th, 2018

Recent Articles

2017 Annual Student Research Symposium...

More News...

Page Tools

Print Page      Email Page

Modify Font Size

Louisiana Tech University, A Member of the University of Louisiana System
2018 Louisiana Tech University P.O. Box 3178 Ruston, LA 71272